Help support
Find My Recycler !


Costs start from around the same price as a daily paper.
For more info
Click Here
Slash your CO2 footprint by 2 tonnes and Save money at the same time with energyhelpline

Show your support - Purchase advertising here in this 125 x 200 tower advertisement
Help support
Find My Recycler !


Costs start from around the same price as a daily paper.
For more info
Click Here sponsors
Aluminium Can Crusher - Recycling Tool - Less waste More space.

USA: EPA Honors Environmental Heroes for 2012 in Pacific Southwest

Twelve prestigious awards to be presented at upcoming events in the Pacific Southwest region over the next several months

SAN FRANCISCO – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Pacific Southwest Region today announced the 12 winners for the 2012 annual environmental awards to acknowledge significant contributions to protecting the environment.

Jared Blumenfeld, EPA's Regional Administrator for the Pacific Southwest, said:

"The winners, green heroes all, prove there are many ways to protect our air, water and land. Each one has taken up the challenge to improve our environment, and we all stand to benefit."

Groups and individuals were selected from nominees received this year from businesses, government officials, tribes, media, environmental organizations and community activists.

The 12 categories and this year's winners are from Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada, and tribal lands:

Green Business of the Year – Frito-Lay Casa Grande Plant, Casa Grande, Arizona.

Green Government – ASU's Sustainable Cities Network, Arizona State University's Global Institute of Sustainability, Tempe, Arizona.

Zero Waste Advocate – Adobe Systems, Inc., San Jose, California.

Sustainable Agriculture Champion – Russ Lester of Dixon Ridge Farms, Winters, California.

Climate Change Champion – Grid Alternatives, Oakland, California.

Green Chemistry – KORE Infrastructure syngas pilot project in Paramount, California.

Environmental Justice Champion – Neelam Sharma of Community Services Unlimited, South Los Angeles, California.

Efficient Water Infrastructure – The Water and Energy Technology (WET) Center at California State University, Fresno, California.

Children's Environmental Health – Dr. Jeanne Conry of American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Roseville, California.

Educational Leadership – Guam Environmental Education Committee, Hagatna, Guam

Clean Technology – Kuehnle AgroSystems, Inc., Honolulu, Hawaii

Tribal Environmental Protection – Shoshone Paiute Tribes of Duck Valley in Owyhee, Nevada.

Individual presentations and group award ceremonies will be conducted at various locations in the Pacific Southwest region over the next several months. Additional information about the award recipients will be provided in advance of the separate award ceremonies.

Each year, U.S. EPA's Pacific Southwest office encourages citizens in California, Arizona, Nevada, Hawaii and the Pacific Territories to nominate individuals or organizations for 12 environmental awards. This program offers a great opportunity to recognize individuals and groups outside of the EPA who are working to protect public health and the environment. Awards are granted to scientists, teachers, journalists, citizen activists, young people, organizations, business representatives, tribal leaders, public officials, and others committed to protecting public health and preserving our natural surroundings.